The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Jun 15, 2022

Qatar 2022 World Cup at final stage

Avatar photo
Foreign Affairs News Desk

The official poster of the World Cup 2022 Qatar has been unveiled amidst a function today.

With the victory of Costa Rica, all the 32 teams participating in the World Cup have been decided.

Costa Rica was selected for the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar beating New Zealand 1-0in the play-off final of the intercontinental selection on Tuesday night to qualify for the World Cup.

Joel Campbell’s goal in the third minute of the match proved decisive in Costa Rica’s victory over Amad Bin Ali Stadium in Doha, Qatar.

Costa Rica, who first qualified for the 1990 World Cup, then played in the 2002,2006, 2014 and 2018 World Cups. Costa Rica reached the quarterfinals of the 2014 World Cup.

This year’s FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 is being held in the Asian nation of Qatar from November 21 to December 18.

The games are set to take place in the winter season for the first time in the history of World Cup football. Earlier, it was held every four years in summer. As the World Cup draws near, the World Cup qualifiers are coming to an end.

Nations selected in FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022

From Europe

Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, Netherlands, Portugal, Poland & Wales

From South America

Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay and Ecuador

From North and Central America (CONCACAF)

Canada, USA, Mexico and Costa Rica

From Asia

Qatar (host) Iran, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Japan and Australia

From South Africa

Ghana, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco and Cameroon

Group split

Group A – Qatar, Ecuador, Senegal and the Netherlands

Group B – England, Iran, USA and Wales

Group C – Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland

Group D – France, Australia, Denmark and Tunisia

Group E – Spain, Costa Rica, Germany and Japan

Group F – Belgium, Canada, Morocco and Croatia

Group G – Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland and Cameroon

Group H – Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea 

The 22nd edition of FIFA World Cup will be played in 8 stadiums in 5 cities of Qatar.

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar kicks off on Monday November 21 at the Al Thumama Stadium when Senegal take on the Netherlands in Group A followed by hosts Qatar against Ecuador at the Al Bayt Stadium.

Meanwhile, the world-famous sporting goods company Adidas has named the official ball for the World Cup as ‘Al Rihla’ which means ‘The Journey’.

Al Rihla is inspired by Qatar’s unique architecture, ‘iconic’ boats and the national flag.