The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Feb 8, 2023

Who will host 2030 World Cup?

FA News Desk
World Cup image by FIFA
World Cup image by FIFA

The South American group of nations Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay officially submitted their bids for hosting the 2030 World Cup on Wednesday.

Argentina’s President Alberto Fernandez made a statement on his official Twitter account saying that Bolivia will be asked to join “this dream”.

Likewise, European nations–Spain, Portugal and Ukraine have already made a joint claim for the 2030 World Cup while Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Greece are also in the process of making a joint claim.

It has to wait with patience to whom– European nations, Arab nations or South American nations, FIFA will award the prestigious title of 2030 World Cup organizing responsibility.

Accordingly, FIFA decides the venue in 2024.Calling for the tournament to return “where football was born” 100 years after the first World Cup was held in Montevideo, the AFA president Claudio Tapia said, ” it deserves a celebration with recognition for 100 years.”

After the first edition in Uruguay, Argentina hosted the World Cup in 1978 and Chile in 1962, while Paraguay has never hosted the sport’s biggest competition.

As claimed, if South America was chosen, the opening match of the tournament will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina while the final will be held in Montevideo, Uruguay.

Uruguay won the first edition of the World Cup in Montevideo.

The 2026 World Cup is being organized by the USA, Mexico and Canada.