The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Jul 21, 2023

FIFA Women’s World Cup kicks off

Avatar photo
FA News Desk
Women Football

The FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia & New Zealand 2023™ kicks off on Thursday 20 July.

New Zealand faced 1995 winners Norway in The opening match played at Eden Park in Auckland on 20 July 2023.

New Zealand won 1-0 against Norway in the opening Group A match and Australia beat Ireland 1-0 in the first game of Group B.

Eight countries Haiti, Morocco, Panama, the Philippines, Portugal, the Republic of Ireland, Vietnam and Zambianare making their Women’s World Cup debut in the first-time event featuring 32 teams in 2023 expanding from 24 in 2019.

The United States is the two-time defending champion, having won in 2015 and 2019.

The final will take place on 20 August 2023 at Sydney Olympic Stadium in Sydney.