Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Apr 2, 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar-2022 group revealed

Foreign Affairs News Desk

The highly anticipated Final Draw for the FIFA 2022 World Cup Qatar is over. The 2022 FIFA World Cup group stage draw in full took place on Friday evening at the Doha Exhibition and Convention Center in Qatar put an end to 24 hours of speculation and Group of Death nightmare scenarios.

After the declaration of tie sheet, now the real wait begins after 32 different countries which will feature at the World Cup this winter, 29 have been confirmed and seeded ahead of Friday’s draw in the Qatari capital Doha.

A number of the final qualifying spots were snapped up this week, with all five African nations being decided while Portugal and Poland came through their play-off encounters.

However, the are still three spots up for grabs but they will be finalized in June this year.

The 2022 tournament will be the final edition to boast 32 teams, as the number will increase in 2026.

Some of the bigger countries to miss out include European champions Italy, Egypt, Ivory Coast and Algeria.

Tie Sheet

In Group B, England who it faced in the 2010 World Cup were handed a potentially explosive encounter against Scotland or Wales, depending on their playoff results, plus ties against Iran and the United States.

The U.S. will also face Iran and the winner of the European playoff between Wales and either Ukraine or Scotland.

Mexico will also face a hearty Group C that features Argentina in what could be Lionel Messi’s last chance at a World Cup along with Robert Lewandowski’s Poland.

Meanwhile, Group E also looks quite scary with Spain and Germany being drawn with Japan and the winner of the second intercontinental playoff between Costa Rica and New Zealand.

The 2022 World Cup begins November 21 and ends with the final in Lusail on December 18—the National Day of Qatar.

Favourites Brazil were drawn in Group G and will face Switzerland, Serbia and Cameroon in the finals.

Saudi Arabia were drawn in Group C, and will face Lionel Messi’s Argentina, plus Mexico and Poland.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal were top seeds in Group H and will play Ghana, Uruguay and South Korea – the side beaten by the UAE on Tuesday.

The first Group of Death nomination goes to Group C, which will feature Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico and Poland.

Group E, which features two former world champions from Europe and arguably Asia’s strongest contender is the group of death.

Spain were world champions in 2010 while Germany were last winners in 2014, having taken the title on four occasions. However, both have suffered recent group stage exits, in 2014 and 2018 respectively. Japan is also the strongest team. Costa Rica and New Zealand – who must face in a play-off to decide who goes to Qatar – both have recent history of World Cup upsets.

Group A: Qatar, Ecuador, Netherlands, Senegal

Group B: England, Iran, USA, Scotland/Wales/Ukraine

Group C: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, Mexico, Poland

Group D: France, UAE/Australia/Peru, Denmark, Tunisia

Group E: Spain, Costa Rica/New Zealand, Germany, Japan

Group F: Belgium, Canada, Morocco, Croatia

Group G: Brazil, Serbia, Switzerland, Cameroon

Group H: Portugal, Ghana, Uruguay, South Korea