The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Jun 17, 2022

US, Mexico & Canada to host 2026 FIFA World Cup

FA News Desk
World Cup image by FIFA
World Cup image by FIFA

The 2026 World Cup will be different from the previous and incoming World Cup in Qatar.

According to the world football body FIFA, the 2026 World Cup will be the first tournament hosted by three nations- the United States of America, Canada and Mexico.

Also, in addition, it will have 48 teams expanding from the current 32 teams in the competition.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup will be the 23rd FIFA World Cup.

On Wednesday, FIFA made public that the 16 North American cities will host matches for the 2026 World Cup.

11 venues chosen — New York/New Jersey (MetLife Stadium); Los Angeles (SoFi Stadium); Dallas (AT&T Stadium); San Francisco Bay Area (Levi’s Stadium); Miami (Hard Rock Stadium); Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium); Seattle (Lumen Field); Houston (NRG Stadium); Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field); Kansas City, Missouri (Arrowhead Stadium); and Boston (Gillette Stadium) are the cities officially selected to host World Cup matches in the USA.

Three cities of Mexico– Guadalajara (Estadio Akron), Monterrey (Estadio BBVA Bancomer), Mexico City (Estadio Azteca) were selected to host World Cup matches in Mexico.

Likewise, World Cup matches will be played in Toronto (BMO Field) and Vancouver (BC Place) cities of Canada.

“It was the most competitive process ever for the FIFA World Cup,” FIFA president Gianni Infantino told Fox Sports about the selection process. “We will be working in clusters, making sure that the teams and the fans don’t have to travel too much in different areas: West, Central and East.”

As per the FIFA, 60 games are set to be played in the United States, while Mexico and Canada will each get 10 matches.

“Once the tournament reaches the quarterfinal stage, all remaining knockout round games will be held in the U.S.” FIFA added.

FIFA has decided the host cities after getting first-hand information of all candidate host cities at the end of 2021.

Mexico had already hosted the World Cup in 1970 and 1986. The USA hosted the 1994 World Cup, while for Canada, the 2026 World Cup will be the first time to be hosted.