The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
May 24, 2024

Three European nations recognize Palestine

Avatar photo
FA News Desk
Map pf Palestine
Map pf Palestine

On May 28, 2024 Ireland, Norway and Spain announced their support of official recognition of Palestinian state.

Palestine is a country in the southern Levant region of West Asia with the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.

Some 140 of 193 countries represented in the United Nations have so far recognized a Palestinian state. The U.S. and many European countries do not recognize it.

The Palestine Authority currently has observer status in the United Nations.

Ireland’s Prime Minister Simon Harris, Norwegian Prime Minister Jonas Gahr Støre and Spanish Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez insisted that without the recognition of Palestinian statehood, “there cannot be peace in the Middle East. Thus, this move could bring peace.”

The 1948 U.N. decision that created Israel envisaged a neighboring Palestinian state, but some 70 years later control of the Palestinian territories remains divided and bids for U.N. membership have been denied.

Meanwhile, opposing the three countries’ step, Israel’s foreign minister, Israel Katz, said the Israeli ambassadors to Ireland, Norway and Spain will recall.

The United Nations approved a plan to partition Palestine into a Jewish and Arab state in 1947, but the Arabs rejected it.

But on May 14, 1948, Zionist leader David Ben-Gurion, the head of the Jewish Agency, proclaimed Israel’s establishment as an independent sovereign state in Tel Aviv

Immediately, the then U.S. President Harry S. Truman recognized the new nation.

Nepal endorsed its recognition to Israel on June 1, 1960 established diplomatic relations being the first South Asian state to establish full bilateral ties with Israel.