The Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Jun 9, 2024

Modi’s Hattrick: Sworn in as PM of India

Avatar photo
FA News Desk
Narendra Modi taking Oath of Office and Secrecy of Prime Minister of India from President of India  at Rastrapati Bhawan in New Delhi, India.
Narendra Modi taking Oath of Office and Secrecy of Prime Minister of India from President of India at Rastrapati Bhawan in New Delhi, India.

Narendra Damodar Das Modi, leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took the oath of office of the prime minister from President Mrs. Droupadi Murmu.

Modi secured a third term with his allies and is the first three-term Prime Minister of India since India’s first premier Congress stalwart Jawaharlal Nehru.

The ceremony was organized at 7:15 pm local time.

All together 72 Members (including PM Modi) of both Houses of Parliament–Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha representing 11 parties that support NDA’s Modi took the oath Ministers by 30 parliamentarians whereas 41 parliamentarians have taken oath of state ministers.

Earlier, National Democratic Alliances (NDA) leaders unanimously backed Mr. Modi as the leader of the coalition and their prime ministerial candidate.

PM Modi signing the document after his sworn in as Prime minister..

On Tuesday, a BJP-led coalition, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), won the general election with 293 seats. As in 2014 and 2019 elections, this time BJP did not win an outright majority.

The BJP won 240 seats in the election, which is 32 seats short of the 272 required to get a majority in India’s 543-member parliament. Meanwhile, two members will be nominated by the President of India to the Lok Sabha that makes total 545 members.

A meeting of the coalition held on Wednesday unanimously elected Modi as the leader and decided to propose him as Prime Minister for the third term.

After the Lok Sabha election results, Modi resigned on Wednesday and dissolved the Council of Ministers as well as the President dissolved the Parliament– Lok Sabha too.

President of India Mrs. Droupadi Murmu greeting PM Modi after latter’s sworn in as Prime Minister on Sunday in New Delhi.

The largest exercise in democracy in human history with around 650 million voters voted in a marathon seven-week election was taken as a vital contribution to India’s democratic processes and institutions which was also hailed as a “world record” by election authorities.

Over 8,000 dignitaries including President of Sri Lanka, H.E. Mr. Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives, H.E. Dr. Mohamed Muizzu, Prime Minister of Bangladesh, H.E. Sheikh Hasina, Vice-President of Seychelles, H.E. Mr. Ahmed Afif, Prime Minister of Bhutan, H.E. Mr. Tshering Tobgay, Prime Minister of Nepal, H.E. Mr. Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Prime Minister of Mauritius, H.E. Mr. Pravind Kumar Jugnauth attended the oath-taking ceremony of BJP leader Narendra Modi as Prime Minister of India.

After the BJP coalition secured a majority in the Lok Sabha election, Prime Minister Dahal called Modi to congratulate him. During that telephone conversation, Modi invited him to attend the ceremony.

Immediately after the conversation, Modi expressed his gratitude to Prime Minister Dahal via social media platform X.

Whatever be, Nepal looks forward to continuing to further our partnership with the new Indian government to promote prosperity of the two countries.

(All Images courtesy from NDTV)