Foreign Affairs News The Leading News Portal
Aug 4, 2022

Four South American nations show interest to host 2030 World Cup

Foreign Affairs News Correspondent
World Cup image by FIFA
World Cup image by FIFA

Argentina, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay launched a four-nation joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup.

They submitted a joint bid on Tuesday, said South American Football Confederation CONMEBOL president Alejandro Domíguez adding “This is the dream of a continent.”

The World Cup 2022 in Qatar is kicking off in November. This world cup is the first event to be held in winter time and in the Gulf area.

If the four nations’ proposal comes to success the global tournament will be brought back to Uruguay exactly a century after it hosted the first World Cup in 1930.

After this the 23rd FIFA World Cup to be held in 2026 will be organized by Canada, Mexico, and the United States jointly.

From this 2026 World Cup, the tournament will be played between 48 teams, expanded from 32 teams.

The World Cup 2002 was organized by Japan and South Korea for the first time.

Thus, since 2002, the 2026 World Cup will be the second to be hosted by more than one nation, and the first by more than two.

For Mexico, the 2026 World Cup will be the third time to be hosted as it had already organized the games in 1970 and 1986.

Also, the for the United States who had organized the World Cup in 1994 will be the second innings.

But for Canada, hosting the 2026 World Cup is the first time.

Argentina and Chile have since also hosted the games, in 1978 and 1962, respectively.